Literary 007 - The James Bond Books & Spin-Offs

From 1953 to the present day, dozens of novels and a number of short stories have been published chronicling the adventures of British secret agent James Bond, often referred to by his code name, 007. The character was created by Ian Fleming (pictured opposite), first appearing in his debut novel Casino Royale (1953).

Following Fleming's death in 1964 and the posthumous publication of some remnant works by him over the next few years, others were commissioned to write continuation novels. These post-Fleming novels were issued sporadically in the late 1960s and '70s, then regularly between 1981 and 2002 by John Gardner and Raymond Benson, after which the series was put on hiatus.

Two spinoff series of books, Young Bond and The Moneypenny Diaries, were published after this point, but in the spring of 2008 the original James Bond novel series returned with the publication of a new work by Sebastian Faulks. Jeffery Deaver took Bond into the 21st century with his fast-paced action-thriller, "Carte Blanche", released in May 2011. He was followed by William Boyd, acclaimed author of "A Good Man In Africa", who penned the 2013 adventure, "Solo".

Author Portals
Ian Fleming
Geoffrey Jenkins
Kingsley Amis
John Gardner
Raymond Benson
Charlie Higson
Jeffery Deaver
William Boyd
Steve Cole


Literary News